Dr. Cogburn Selected to High-Level Internet Governance Committee

Dr. Cogburn speaks at NETMundial photoDr. Derrick Cogburn, COTELCO/IDPP Executive Director and Associate Professor at American University's School of International Service (AU SIS), has been selected to the High-Level Multistakeholder Committee (HLM) of the Global Multistakeholder Meeting on the Future of Internet Governance (NETMundial) from 23-24 April 2014 in Sao Paolo, Brazil. NETMundial, co-hosted by the Brazilian Internet Steering Committee and /1net, brings together governments, civil society, academia, technicians and businesses to formulate Internet governance principles and create a strategic plan for the further evolution of the Internet governance ecosystem.

"I am deeply honored by my GigaNet colleagues for this nomination and am delighted to accept the appointment. This is a critical juncture for global Internet governance, and I look forward to contributing in this way," says Dr. Derrick Cogburn.

The idea for the NETMundial meeting emerged after Brazilian President Ms. Dilma Rousseff used her 2013 speech at the United Nations General Assembly to decry the global Internet surveillance uncovered by the Snowden revelations, and invited the world to Brazil to develop new global solutions for Internet governance. The heads of all the major Internet governance institutions had recently signed the Montevideo Statement on the Future of Internet Cooperation regarding the need to develop new principles and values for Internet governance in the post-Snowden environment.

The HLM is chaired by Brazilian Minister of Communications and NETMundial meeting chair Mr. Paulo Bernardo Silva, and composed of renowned global Internet governance experts, including Mr. Tarek Kamel, former Minister of Communications of Egypt and Senior Advisor to the President of Egypt; Dr. Jovan Kurbalija, Founding Director of DiploFoundation; and Joe Alhadeff, Vice President for Global Public Policy and Chief Privacy Officer for Oracle Corporation. The HLM is responsible for overseeing the overall strategy of NETMundial and fostering the involvement of the international community.

The committee comprises ministerial-level representatives from twelve governments; twelve members of the multistakeholder community (three representatives each from civil society, the private sector, academia and the technical community); and two representatives from international organizations appointed by the United Nations (UN): Mr. Hamadoun Toure of the International Telecommunications Union and Mr. Wu Hongbo of the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs.

Dr. Cogburn has been an active Internet governance scholar and figure for over a decade, including serving as a High-Level Advisory Panel Member of the United Nations Global Alliance for ICT and Development; Founding Steering Committee Member and Vice Chair of the Global Internet Governance Academic Network (GigaNet), member of the scientific committee for the Internet Governance Project; and former Executive Director of the Global Information Infrastructure Commission for Africa. He is the editor of the Information Technology and Global Governance book series with Palgrave Macmillian, which focuses on the complex interrelationships between the social, political, and economic processes of global governance that occur at national, regional, and international levels.

Dr. Cogburn has authored a number of articles, book chapters and conference papers on Internet governance, including "Why Govern Cyberspace and Social Media" presented at the Why Govern? Conference on Global Governance at American University (2013); "Globalizing Multistakeholder Governance: A Mixed Methods Case Study of the First Five Years of the UN Internet Governance Forum" co-authored and co-presented with AU SIS professor Dr. Nanette Levinson at the 52nd Annual Convention of the International Studies Association (2011); "Using Computer Assisted Content Analysis to Explore Multistakeholder Participation in the UN Internet Governance Forum” presented at the American Political Science Association Annual Meeting (2010); “Enabling Effective Multistakeholder Participation in Global Internet Governance Through Accessible Cyberinfrastructure” in The Handbook of Internet Politics (2008); and “Elite Decision-Making and Epistemic Communities: Implications for Global Information Policy” in The Emergent Global Information Policy Regime (2004).

Along with American University (AU) colleague and COTELCO Senior Research Associate Dr. Nanette Levinson and AU School of Communication professor Dr. Laura DeNardis, author of the recent book The Global War for Internet Governance, Dr. Cogburn helped to create the AU2030 initiative for global Internet governance research at AU. Drs. Levinson and DeNardis are the respective former Chair and Vice Chair of GigaNet.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to receive our latest news!